intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Work Inspired

I work at Water Street Coffee Joint in Kalamazoo, MI.  I cook food there – it is a great job.  I get to work with some fabulous, smart, interesting people as we talk, banter, postulate, fantasize, rant, dish out the cynicism, sarcasm, jokes, political commentary, share music, talk about Classical music and listen to it (with Matt and Stephanie – fellow Classical music wonks), and, of course we talk about food a whole lot, too.  I love my work, workplace, and counterparts.  Oh, and the coffee is pretty damn good, too…

Anyway, we make this one thing called Chicken Pecan Salad.  I love it, but I tend to be opposed to consuming salads where the first ingredient is Mayonnaise.  The dressing recipe is fine – using mayo, honey, poppy seeds, cider vinegar – but I prefer to use Greek yogurt (which, interestingly, has seen a 2500% increase in purchases during the past 6 years – check out this article from The Atlantic regarding this topic.)

Right now, my body is intolerant of wheat gluten, so I picked up these flax and millett lavash wraps for my chicken salad.  I have not had any gluten free wraps aside from corn tortillas, and I thought it was pretty tasty!  I am going to try some gluten free bread soon, too, which I plan to review.  Hopefully I can eat fantastic local bread again soon – send good vibes to my body, it could use any additional love it can get :( Usually things like this make me laugh a whole lot, though, and sometimes, that’s super awesome.  Even if my body is doin’ its thang, at least I have The Internet to provide an endless source of entertainment (and music)!

Work Inspired Chicken Salad

Note: I did not weigh out or measure the amounts of things used, as I have been so lax in updating, I was sitting down to eat when I realised that this could, like, go on my neglected food blog.  I am estimating, so feel free to experiment and scale according to what are estimates.  Thankfully, chicken salad is one of those things where you can add slowly, so when you are mixing in the yogurt, perhaps smart small, add the other liquids, and then add more of the yogurt if it needs it…

Ingredients

  • Cooked, picked, chopped chicken – a mix of light & dark, of course!
  • Half a bunch of celery, diced
  • 2 cups of grapes, halved or quartered – it’s up to you
  • Half bunch of green onions, chopped or 1/3 a vidalia onion, or a mixture of both
  • Medium sized Pink Lady apple chopped small
  • I used 1/2 cup of Glad Corn because I wanted something crunchy in it, and I did not have any nuts – you could use that amount (or more to taste) of toasted pecans, slivered almonds, pistachios, etc.  Use what you like
  • Roughly 1 cup of Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup Nayonnaise
  • 1/8 cup honey mustard (or plain honey – again, ADD SLOWLY if you use honey, since it’s going to be more intense than the honey mustard)
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1-2 tsbp poppy seeds
  • Salt to taste
Mix everything together well – it’s fun to just use your hands for this part, honestly.  We do that at work (with gloves, of course) and it is the most effective for making a Ginormous Vat Of It.  In this quantity, you could use a kitchen utensil of choice :)
Other things that would be good in it: chopped pear, dried cranberries or blueberries, squeeze of lemon, use turkey instead of chicken (yes, I will make it this way for you someday), some roasted potatoes, grilled corn kernels sliced off the cobb, some chopped fresh herb perhaps.  Experiment, have fun!  I suppose this is why people love chicken salad – it’s so easy, you can make a ton, and it’s hard to screw up.  If only the rest of life were always like this.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

During dinner my family is reading this book called the Intellectual Devotional by David S. Kidder.  If ever I get on Jeopardy, this book will have helped.  Today we learned about Handel and Galileo.  This book has taken way longer than a year for us to finish (try four).  Apparently we have not been intellectually devoted in the past, but boy, sometimes things sure do change for the better.  I believe that now more than ever before, and I am grateful.
<3 Liz

2 responses

  1. Ann

    thank you for this adaptation! I like that cursed chicken salad too; every time I’m enjoying it, the part of me that hates mayo wimpers “whhhyyy.” I can’t wait to try it…I always have a jumbo container of yogurt for all subbing-intents.

    Also, I am glad to have discovered this blog. :)

    August 30, 2011 at 3:43 am

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! I am glad you discovered my blog, too! If you make this, let me know how you like it!

      Liz :)

      August 30, 2011 at 11:41 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.