intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Settling In & Pizza Kick C’td

Wherever I go, I can always cook.  That is something I have been telling myself throughout the past few months as my life has involved a whole lot of moving several times, visiting old friends, and meeting new ones.  It has involved a job hunt, a new city far away from my epicenter, and building up a life for myself from scratch that is built upon (what I must trust) is a strong enough foundation.  Where there is uncertainty and upheaval, there is an opportunity to cook.  It is how I relax, channel my emotions, and focus my thoughts.  It seems to produce deliciousness that the people in my life can share with me, and brings us all together. Making, eating, and sharing food is a way for me to bring other people into my world, my head, and my heart.

That said, I will dive back into the written word.  I have always considered myself a writer, yet I have barely scratched picked up a pen in years.  It’s time to marry my creative endeavors: photography, writing, cooking, and perhaps music (before too long).

Everyday, my dear friend and I make breakfast together.  During the week it is the old standby of fruit, yogurt, and granola.  On the weekends, time and relaxation lend themselves to produce fantastic brunches.  This one is a breakfast pizza that is composed of various leftovers and topped with a poached egg.  Start with a piece of flatbread, or make a pizza crust.  Caramelize thick sliced sweet onions and mushrooms with a bit of brown sugar.  Poach four eggs, and set them aside. Next, mix together fresh corn pesto (recipe below) with a bit of greek yogurt (if you like), and top that with any cheese you like–I used grated ricotta slata, blue cheese, and goat cheese.  Top with the veggies, and toss it in the oven to melt the cheese.  Take it out of the oven, and top with sliced roasted beets and the eggs.  Put it back in the oven for a little bit to warm up the eggs.  Grind pepper over it, and serve with a little salad, good hot sauce.

Fresh Corn Pesto

Adapted from this: http://www.lottieanddoof.com/2010/07/pasta-with-fresh-corn-pesto/

  • 2 cups fresh corn kernels (reserve 1/4 cup or so to toss in at the end for crunch)
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup caramelized sweet onion and garlic
  • 3/4-1 tsp french gray salt (or kosher)
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Ricotta Slata  cheese
  • 1/4-1/2 cup greek yogurt (make it as creamy as you like)
  • 1/4 cup almonds, toasted
  • 1/8 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Put the corn and caramelized vegetables in a food processor and grind till smooth.  Next add in the nuts, garlic, and cheese.  Drizzle in the olive oil.  Fold the yogurt, and season with salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

