intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

kitchen hardware

I should introduce some of the new items that have come into my culinary life thanks to friends who gave me birthday gifts!  I have made it pretty far in my life with a simple kitchen–never had a blender or food processor growing up.  No kitchen aid.  Very few gadgets.  My grandmother used to make whipped cream with an eggbeater, and nowadays, I rely only on elbow grease.  Making cookies?  Use those muscles!

I mentioned before that I had gotten this apron from Mischa.  A few days later another box showed up containing a BEAUTIFUL platter. I love it, and look forward to entertaining many guests with this as the centerpiece.

David gave me knives.  They are super sharp.  Considering how accident prone I am, I have promised to be EXTRA careful with them.  Knives like this need to be well cared for–never put them in the dish washer, clean and dry them immediately.  Store them on a magnetic strip or in a protective case so they do not get dull.  Have them sharpened professionally.

One response

  1. food processors can really shorten the time it takes for you to prepare home cooked meals ~`’

    November 14, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

