intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Carrot Ginger Soup with Dill

This is definitely one of my favorite fall soups.  I find myself obsessed with root vegetables like this–particularly squash.  This recipe is adapted from the Chicago Diner cookbook that I first used to make it.  I cannot believe it was nearly a year ago already, and I was living in Chicago.  It was right around Halloween weekend, and I remember using the leftovers that I thickened with milk and goat cheese to use as a pasta sauce with tortellini!  It was really delicious.

Ingredients

1 lb bag of carrots, peeled and cut into chunks

1/2 large vidalia onion

1/2 large yellow onoin

4 garlic cloves, chopped

stalk or two of celery

4 cups of veggie or chicken stock

2 bay leaves

big knob of ginger, peeled and roughly chopped

squeeze of lemon

1/4 cup orange juice

salt and pepper.

dollap of yogurt and sprinkling of fresh dill to serve

1.  Saute the onions, carrots, and celery until softened.  Add in the garlic as you see fit, but not immediately.

2.  Right before adding the stock and citrus, toss in the ginger and saute it along with everything else

3.  Pour in stock and add bay leaves, bring to a simmer.  Let it cook for 30-60 minutes at a low simmer.

4.  Take off the heat and let it cool slightly, then puree the soup in a blender or use your immersion blender.

5.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

I added curry powder to this the first time I made it, but omitted that this time.  You can also stir in some milk, yogurt or cream once it has cooled some and you’ve pureed it.  This is one of those lovely versatile soups.  I just topped it with the yogurt and dill, and some toasted buttercup squash seeds I had sitting around.

Leave a Reply

