intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Sweet Potato Risotto Farewell

Since it has finally cooled down, I am now able to get super excited about making a WHOLE lot of risotto this winter.  It is by far my favorite overall dish to make in the winter months, and I have so much fun thinking of creative ways to make it my own (though if anyone wants to send me to Italy so a grandmotherly woman can show me her family recipe, I would definitely take you  up on that offer!).

David was going to visit Haiti the next day, and risotto with fish seemed like a fantastic healthy and hearty send off meal.  I usually make a sweet potato risotto with traditional sweet potatoes/yams.  This time I spotted some interesting oriental sweet potatoes at the market, and decided to try them out.  It was SO good, and I am so pumped about making it next time with my own stock and wine (had no wine available, just white wine vinegar).

This was my first time not doing much measuring while making the risotto.  I didn’t measure the broth, didn’t measure the rice too closely….I kinda winged it.

Truffled Oriental Sweet Potato Risotto

Ingredients

1 big shallot or a few small ones

4 cloves of garlic

1 vidalia onion, roughly chopped

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tbsp black truffle oil

1 tbsp butter

truffle salt

salt to taste (I used himalayan pink salt)

2 bay leaves

1 large oriental sweet potato (or you could use a regular if you want)

around 4 cups of chicken stock, simmering on hand

1-1/2 cups of arborio rice

splash of wine

4 tbsp basil, roughly chopped

1/2 cup greek yogurt

3 ounces of goat cheese

splash of milk or cream

1 tbsp butter added at the end

hard cheese grated over at the end

1.  Begin heating the stock in a separate sauce pan.  When you begin adding this to the rice, make sure it is simmering, but not boiling.  Add the bay leaves into the stock as well.

2.  Melt butter and heat up oil in a large stock pot

3.  Add in onion and shallot, saute for 5-10 minutes until soft and translucent, then add in the garlic, salt and pepper

4.  Add in rice and toast it for about a minute, deglaze with a splash of white wine (I just used a little white wine vinegar)

5.  Begin adding stock, around 3/4 cup at a time.  You can babysit the pan as much as you’d like, stirring carefully.  I generally use this time to fix a salad or preparing fish to sear.

6.  Test the risotto while you work, as your stock runs low.  When the rice is done, then you can add in the basil, and the dairy–butter through the end.  Add more salt and pepper to taste if you’d like as well.  Serve immediately!

I also decided that I would serve this with a simple fish dish.  I chose tilapia filets.  Before I began anything for the risotto, I buttered a roasting pan, tossed them with olive oil, truffle oils, salt, pepper, and then drizzled them with some lemon.  I preheated the oven to 425 degrees. When the risotto was nearly done, I tossed the fish in the oven for about 10 minutes.  It went so well with the risotto.

Leave a Reply

