intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Baked Pumpkin/Everything but the kitchen sink Mac & Cheese

Who doesn’t love macaroni and cheese?  Nuff said.  I tried to make it healthy, and the end result involved MANY ingredients.  I kept testing the sauce and saying, hmmm it needs something.

The beginning of the sauce was: globe of fresh mozzarella, 4 oz goat cheese, 1 can pumpkin puree, 1/2 cup part skim ricotta, 1/3 c shredded sharp cheddar.  Added in caramelized vidalia onions and a variety of mushrooms (used some baby bellas and chanterelles) that I sauteed in duck fat.  Added truffle oil, truffle salt, and cracked pepper.  Still not quite right.  Added nutritional yeast.  Not right.  Added nutmeg. A little better…..Spice!  Added cayenne and some Clancy’s Fancy hot sauce.  At this point I had a monster on my hands, but it tasted fantastic, and so I called it a day.

I boiled a pound of gimeli pasta.  I did some research into what people say is their favorite pasta shape to use for macaroni and cheese.  My initial thought was to use small shells, actually, or maybe farfalle.  I knew I did not want to use rotini (too many bad memories of crappy pasta salads), I did not think penne would be very exciting, and elbows seemed too ordinary.  So I settled on gimeli, and I think it held up great, but did not exactly produce a block of macaroni and cheese like elbows would, so next time I think I would probably just stick with small shells or elbows for this kind of sauce.

I picked up a smoked turkey breast and just heated it up, sliced it on the side.  Comfort food is so good.

One response

  1. ghuggett

    “Bad memoires of crappy pasta salads”. Hm…….

    Read “The Lacuna” by Barbara Kingsolver. I think you will like it. Freida and Diego are in it.

    November 9, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

