intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Tilapia, Forbidden Rice, Stir Frying

This tilapia recipe tastes better than it looks….it’s one of those kinds of sauces.  The rice also qualifies for that disclaimer, I suppose, as it somewhat resembles a swarm of insects.  Aren’t you hungry now?  I picked up the rice, which is a variety called Forbidden Rice from the Himalayan region in Asia.  It looks black, but is actually a gorgeous deep purple color.   I will explain what I did with that after telling you the fish recipe.

Marinated Tilapia

Juice from one lemon

quarter cup sweetened mirin

quarter cup white miso paste

1/8 cup rice vinegar

1 tsp chicken bouillon (better than bouillon is what I used)

dash sesame oil

1.  Mix all these ingredients together and submerge the fish into it for at least an hour.

2. Preheat oven to 425.

3.  Remove fish, but reserve the marinade.  Before baking the fish, pour it into a saucepan and begin to reduce this into a sauce to drizzle over the cooked fish.

4.  Bake fish for about 10 minutes until flaky.  Pour sauce over each fillet before serving.

For the rice I used this neat stuff called black garlic.  It is used in asian cuisine and is just regular garlic which has undergone a fermentation process at a high temperature leaving it extremely pungent and rich in flavor.  I cooked the rice as per the instructions on the package–no different than making any other variety.  I chopped up the cloves of black garlic and stirred it in at the end along with some rice vinegar, lemon, and black bean paste.  Next time I think I would also add some honey to balance out the intensity of the black bean/garlic flavors.

As a topping for the rice I made a simple stir fry of broccoli, vidalia onion, yellow bell pepper, and shiitake mushrooms.  The trick to getting the vegetables exactly right in stir fries is to cook each ingredient separately, then mixing them together at the end with your sauce.  Another method I’ve used is to just add the vegetables according to how long their cooking time would be/how I chopped them up (these two things go hand in hand), but I’ve found the first way makes it much easier to ensure nothing will be over/under cooked.

I par boiled the broccoli until done, set that aside.  Then I cooked up the onion by frying it in neutral oil, then deglazing with a splash of mirin.  Same with the bell peppers and mushrooms.  At the end I mixed them together and tossed everything with some tamari soy sauce, toasted sesame seeds, and mirin.  It was a very lightly flavored stir fry and I think it complimented the stronger flavors of the rest of the dish.

Leave a Reply

