intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Bread Love & a Little Red Meat

I’ve been obsessed with crostini lately.  It makes for a great breakfast platform.  I served the leftover tofu on top of toast with a yogurt/goat cheese/mustard spread, and it was delicious.  I have been pretty into transforming dinner leftovers to breakfast.

For dinner last night I made something similar.  I went to the Columbia Heights farmer’s market on Saturday.  It is located right by my house, and, while it only has a few stands, I really like all of the vendors there.  I had never bought meat from a farmer’s market here, and I have to admit that this was an impulse buy.  I was leaving, and I noticed some sausage samples and I thought I’d give it a shot.  Turns out it was this super tasty indian spiced lamb sausage.  It is almost like chorizo in that you can remove the casing and fry it up with vegetables.  It is from a local Virginia meat company, and it is delicious!

First I cut up half a sweet onion, a few mushrooms, and half a yellow bell pepper.  Next I removed the sausage from its casing, tossed a little splash of oil in my cast iron, and cooked it while smashing it up with my spatula.  Then I added in the vegetables and deglazed with some lemon and water (lacking wine on hand).  I kept adding liquid to the pan to basically braise the vegetables and make sure the lamb stayed moist.  I also added a sprinkle (maybe a tbsp) of dukkah–I have a lot of it!

Meanwhile I toasted my bread in the oven, and spread the yogurt and goat cheese sauce over it (recipe for this is at the end of the post).

When the vegetables and meat were done, I removed it from the pan and spread it over the toast.  Then I  fried an egg and put it on top.

Herbed Yogurt and Goat Cheese Spread

2-4 tbsp goat cheese

1/4 cup greek yogurt

2 tsp stone ground mustard

2 tbsp finely chopped rasted t=red peppers (can use jarred)

1/2 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tbsp white balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp chopped curly parsley

1 tbsp dukkah spice blend

dash of cayenne

salt and pepper to taste

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and spread over toast, use as a dip for falafel or shish kebabs, or it could even be a yogurt based salad dressing!


Leave a Reply

