intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Roasted Dukkah Crusted Tofu

I have not eaten much tofu in my lifetime, but I really like it.  My dear friend Marita’s mom cooked it for me as an adolescent, and I remember being so intrigued by it.  It was something utterly foreign to me; I had never heard of it, let alone seen it.  It came in this container with water, supposedly originated in Japan, and you put in on dish towels pressed between books before cooking it??  At that time I was getting curious about new foods, and graduating from being an overly picky eater into an adventurous and curious eater.  I do not remember what she made with it (probably stir fry), but I loved it.  Having live with and around many vegetarians, I have tried a variety of plant based protein sources like tempeh and seitan.  I have definitely cooked more with those–probably because they are more “meaty.”

I made the Dukkah with the intent of making this dish.  I thought the flavors would work well together.

Roasted Tofu Crusted with Dukkah

1 block extra firm tofu, pressed between two towels for at least an hour before cooking to leach out as much liquid as possible and allow for some amount of marinating time

Dredging station: dukkah, panko bread crumbs, pepper

Stir fry sauce/marinade:

  • 1/2 cup stock
  • 2 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp tamari
  • 2 tbsp white miso
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • fresh ground pepper

1-2 tbsp canola/neutral oil (option)

1.  Prepare marinade/pan sauce in a dish.  Place pressed tofu in a bowl, cut into 1” cubes.  Pour over half the sauce and toss the tofu in it.  Let marinate for at least an hour, preferably.

2.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees and prepare dredging station.  Remve tofu from the marinade and into the dredging station.  Place in an oiled baking container.  Bake until golden brown, turning periodically.

3.  Heat oil in a wok or frying pan until very hot, then stir fry the tofu lightly in it to make it more crispy if you like, or just serve it right from the oven.

Serve over rice, or toss with noodles coated with oil.  I was lazy and served it with steamed vegetables and a salad.

Leave a Reply

