intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Lamb in Stuffed ____ C’TD

If  you haven’t noticed, I am: 1) only cooking for me, and 2) trying to just use what I have and not buy more groceries mid week.  I tend to be pretty bad about getting sucked into using my free time to plan and shop for very different meals every day.  In an effort to be more directed in my purchasing and be more strategic about it all, I have done a pretty good job and only needed to buy additional lettuce and I picked up some more onions, but I bought in bulk.  That said, I have an announcement:  the lame sausage is GONE!  And by gone, I mean it’s all been cooked, and half of it is waiting for me to eat tomorrow night!  At least it is really good!  Though it is possible I will repurpose the leftovers into a new form… Yes, this is a cliff hanger, so be sure to follow up 🙂

Tonight went down like this:  Great, more lamb sausage.  And more dukkah.  Egg, check.  What else do I have?  Onions and carrots and garlic….oh, and the 2 for $1 peppers from the farmers market and more mushrooms, and a sweet potato!  And cheese!   ….stuffed peppers?  Awesome.

Endless Lamb Sausage Stuffed Peppers

2 large bell peppers, halved and seeded/stemmed

2 links lamb sausage (or 1 italian sausage)

1/2 big sweet onion

1/2 cup chopped mushrooms

4 cloves garlic, roughly chopped

1/2 large carrot, roughly chopped

1 small-medium sweet potato, peeled and diced

Juice 1 large lemon squeezed into 16 ounces of water

salt and pepper to taste

2-4 ounces goat cheese

1-2 ounces feta cheese

2 tbsp chopped parsley

Add an egg and some bread/grain for it to be a bit more cohesive, I wish I would have

1.  Preheat oven to 425.  Toss the halved peppers in olive oil, salt, and pepper  place them in a cast iron pan or baking dish and roast for about 15 minutes, check though to see when they look done (when they look soft, start releasing juice, and maybe even are a little blackened).  Remove from oven and set aside (you can do this while working on the filling).

2.  Prepare the lemon water and set aside.

3.  Saute the sausage, casing removed (in a little olive oil, if needed).  Crumble it up with your spoon as it browns.  Add in the sweet potato and let it brown a bit, and deglaze with the lemon water as necesssary so it doesn’t stick to the pan.  When it starts to get softer and bright orange, add in the onion and mushrooms, dukkah, salt, and pepper.  Keep deglazing if needed, and cook until the sweet potato is tender.  Finish it off by adding the cheeses and chopped parsley (also the grain and egg if you are going to do that).

4.  Spoon mixture into the peppers.  Place back into the oven at 375 for 15-20 minutes.  Broil if you want the top to be crispy, or top with some mozzarella and brown it!  Top with yogurt!

I served them with my ubiquitous egg.  Unfortunately I ran out of bread, but I’d recommend that for sopping up juices and dipping if the egg if you make one.  While I was making this, since the oven was on, I roasted some broccoli.  Look for that post soon!

PS.  If you have extra filling, you can bake it in a ramekin and eat it with toast for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

