intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Thanksgiving

The holiday season is such a wonderful time of year for everyone, but especially for those who enjoy cooking and baking.  Since all my family and friends live in Michigan, and I stayed here in DC, I was lucky enough to be adopted by David’s family for the week.  I had such a nice time meeting everyone and cooking together!  We made so many things, and our meal came together as a team effort.  Everything was so delicious!  I think most of the dishes we made were collaborations and with very little use for recipes.

On Wednesday, David’s father, Bob, and I went out to Mclean to help Nancy with some prep work.  Bob made a fantastic pumpkin chiffon pie, which I must get the recipe for.  I wish I had taken a photo of it!  On Thursday we arrived at about noon and got back to work.  We got everything ready, put in the turkey, and even had time for R&R activities like a walk in the woods, a nap, games of pool, and a little yoga!  Andrew and Ellen made a delicious pecan pie while we were on the walk, and it was great to come home to the house smelling delicious and warm.

I will post the photos of the food that I took (did not get closeups of everything that made up the final spread), and post my recipe for stuffing.  Stuffing is my favorite Thanksgiving staple, and I am pretty sure I could eat it everyday for the rest of my like (along with squash), though that might not be a doctor approved course of action, haha.  Usually I put sausage in my stuffing, but that can make it pretty heavy, so I decided to keep it as simple as possible this year.  The entire menu was pretty epic, and consisted of:

  • Turkey & gravy
  • Stuffing
  • Cranberry sauce
  • Brussels sprouts with pecans
  • Beans with sauteed mushrooms and almonts
  • Sweet potato casserole
  • Maple roasted butternut squash
  • Tossed salad
  • Pecan pie
  • Pumpkin chiffon pie
  • Apple pie
  • Pumpkin panna cotta

Classic Stuffing

makes a ton –  feeds a crowd for days

8 cups dried out cubed bread (I would recommend sourdough and ciabatta in combination)

16 oz mixed mushrooms, roughly chopped

2 large onions, coarsely chopped

3 carrots, minced

5 celery stalks, minced

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup chopped precooked chestnuts

1/2 stick butter

1-2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup minced sage

1/2 cup minced parsley

1/4 cup white wine

salt and pepper to taste

chicken stock

2 large baking pans, buttered

1. Saute the onion, carrot, celery until soft and translucent in butter and oil.  Deglaze with the wine.

2.  Add in the mushrooms, salt and pepper.  Cook until mushrooms begin to sweat out the water they contain.  Add in the chopped herbs.

3.  In a large bowl, toss the sauteed veggies with the bread crumbs and chestnuts, adding stock to moisten the bread.  Depending on how moist you like your stuffing, add as much stock as needed.  Spread evenly between baking pans.  Bake at 375 for 20-30 minutes.

2 responses

  1. Karobi Sachs

    Hi,
    You are funny! I love the food thing!

    I am by about 2 degrees of separation (David’s Aunt) reading this. I love cooking too! That Pumpkin Chiffon Pie could be the same one I have cooked from our cousin Barbara when we went to spend thanksgiving with her in Texas about 50 years ago!
    Enjoy!
    Namaste,
    Karobi

    December 4, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    • zilguh

      Hi there! Thanks for reading my blog 🙂 The pie was so good – I’m going to have to get the recipe and make it for a post. I hope to meet you before too long and we can collaborate on something tasty. Hope you’ve had a lovely weekend!

      December 5, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Leave a Reply

