intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Phoenix Bread

First things first: I have moved.  My new roommates are named Ross and Anton.  I love my new home, and I am excited to be showcasing the fantastic kitchen I get to use now.  Ross and his partner Brian and I just totally hit it off when I visited for the first time, and I actually was invited to cater their poker tournament a few days later!  It was a blast.


A few days ago, I roasted a squash.  It did not turn out well.  I knew from the second I cracked into the thing that it was not quite right.  There was a little mold on the top near the stem.  I spent a few minutes looking it over, inspecting the flesh.  This squash was past its prime.  But, grabbing a hold of my optimism these days is key to my sense of self; I roasted it anyway. I took a phone call while it was cooking, and so when I came back to check it, it was overcooked.  Then I proceeded to taste it.  Slightly funky.  So, with a resigned sigh and  low expectations met in full, yogurt with an egg for dinner it was, and the squash was put into a box with disgust, mashed, and lightly spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg.  I decided I’d deal with it later.

24 hours later, I pull it out of the fridge.  I am going to turn this nasty squash into something edible.  I add vanilla, add more cinnamon.  The squash was clearly destined to be quick bread. My new kitchen and I are still getting to know each other, and I discovered that, while there were sugars and flour, there was no baking soda.  I decide to try to make it anyway, and see.  It’s one of those things where it’s already ruined enough, what harm could a little more love and effort do to make it worse?  If nothing else, I could still just throw it out.  I have learned that, in life, you can still make something delicious and beautiful, even if it started out slightly rotten to begin with.

I looked up a recipe to get a rough plan and sense for measurements, and this is what I came up with.

Phoenix Bread

Makes 2 loaves

  • Butter for greasing pans
  • 2 regular size loaf pans
  • 2 cups mashed squash
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 2 cups dried cherries

1.  Grease pans and preheat oven to 350

2.  Mix the squash, yogurt, vanilla, and sugars.  Fold in eggs, careful not to overmid.

3.  Mix together all the dry ingredients, and fold them into the wet ingredients.  Stir in the cherries.

4.  Pour into the prepared baking pans and bake for about half an hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Since there was no leavening agent in this, the texture is kind of custard like.  It’s very strange, but kind of good.  It was fine for a salvaged squash.  Though, I’d honestly recommend adding in the missing baking soda – 2 tsp.  It will make all the difference.

Leave a Reply

