intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Dinner then Breakfast. Classic.

So much cooking happened this weekend.  It made me feel both happy and sad because I don’t know when I will cook with those knives for a spontaneous dinner party.  But I guess that is the thing about food – the beauty and necessity to take  pause and spend time nourishing ourselves, friends, and lovers, while creating something which, by definition, passes so quickly in and out of our lives.  Some things are just that way, and that is why focusing on the process and the sensuous experience of eating is so important.

This weekend I did my best to focus on the love I have in my heart, the nice new neighbors who I will never eat with again, the quiet morning bird songs drifting in through the cracked window, and the most beautiful sunshine I’ve ever seen.  There are certain moments, tastes, and people who you just can never replace once the moments have passed.  It seems so simple and obvious to stop and see how rare and lucky they actually are, to acknowledge and pause within the pause without falling out of it.  I see now what a blessing it is that I always had such good company to eat with, without TVs, steering wheels hovering over burgers, and not ever wonder how long it will be until I forget what the cool knife handle felt like in my hands.

The morning before making all this food was spent walking in the sunshine to Dean & DeLuca.  There was an error on my part about forgetting the Dupont farmer’s market is Sunday only, and so we showed up to its location emptied of all the stands and people I expected to see there.  Georgetown is a nice place to walk to, and since it was early enough when we were out, it was not a window shopping human obstacle course, which was nice.  I got my favorite lamb sausage, and some mussels.

I just had a moment of pure astonishment; I was looking up a link to share with everybody about what kind of lamb sausage I used, and I decided to peruse the rest of the items listed on the company’s site.  Came across this… I mean, I know it’s expensive, but seeing that next to the rest of the prices is a little unreal! http://www.dartagnan.com/51334/565658/Gourmet-Meat/Kobe–Style-Wagyu-Beef-Striploin.html

Oh, and check back in tomorrow because I have 2 more meals to write about that all happend in the span of 24 hours!  Not too bad.

Classic French Lentils. Simple Salmon.  Lamb Sausage. And Sundried Tomato Aioli

Lentils

Note: When making lentils, the ratio is 1:3 – 1:4, so keep that in mind if you decide to scale the recipe up or down.

  • 1 package puy lentils
  • 3-4 cups water/broth
  • 2 bay leaves
  • salt and pepper
  • mirepoix  (carrot, celery, and onion)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • half a lemon and its juice

1. In a large saucepan, saute the mirepoix in butter or oil until soft and tender.  Add in the garlic.

2.  Pour the lentils into the pan along with the broth.  Add bay leaves and lemon.  Simmer 15-20 until the lentils are done but still firm.

Lamb Sausage

  • Lamb sausages
  • Pan
  • Heat
  1. Combine all ingredients in reverse order.  Wait until its browned, then slice into 1/8” rounds.

Simple Salmon

  • Salmon filet
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Oil & lemon
  • Heat (broiler)

1.  Combine all these things for about 10 minutes until your fish flakes nicely, not overcooked.  Be careful – nobody likes dry fish!

Aioli

  • Bag of sundried tomatoes
  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • juice from half a lemon
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil to taste
  • blender

1.  You know what to do.

To serve, plate the lentils, then top with the meat, dollop of aioli, and sprigs of parsley to make it look super pretty.  Leftovers are so fantastic!

Leave a Reply

