intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Mexican Toppings

I have returned north… I remember what this time of year used to be like, before the daffodils arrive, and there is still sometimes that lovely wintery mix on occasion.  This morning I awoke and there was sparkling frost in the shadows, and glistening water in the sunshine.  Birds are definitely here, and I know that in a few weeks it will look like DC does already.

Last night my mom and I got late night burritos after I arrived.  The plane was delayed, and I had a lovely conversation with a beauty product brand rep who has a soft spot for Meijer like I do.  We ended up talking for most of the time the plane was in tarmac purgatory and the past due, yet extremely welcome flight.  We talked about music, radio programs we like, and our grandfathers who were butchers in the grocery stores they owned.  I like meeting nice people so much!  So, anyway, we got burritos, and I used some of the leftover guacamole, salsa, and this bean dip from my last visit home that was still in the fridge.  Oh, and my Clancy’s.. definitely had missed it.  The travel sized bottle I brought home last night was a gift, and my mom had not yet mailed the three big bottles I bought back in February.

This was my breakfast today. I guess it is just more of the same – sometimes I feel boring when I post my breakfasts. But they make me happy, and, they say people don’t change, so it kind of makes sense that I will always love poached eggs and greek yogurt. I think that spring is a time to grasp onto the things and people you love in your life, and to manifest the changes or transformations we all make inside into expressions of beauty and nourishment for ourselves and communities. Some things you must leave behind, let fall to the ground, let the rain fall all spring, and see what might grow from it. I can see it happening now as I look outside and see the bare bushes and disintegrated leaves covering the empty flower beds. It is a monochromatic, dirty, mushy mess that is going to be beautiful if you just have the patience to know what you are really looking at.

So, I have resigned myself to posting my eggs for you all to see, and bearing in mind that there will always be new and exciting things to share soon enough. Which brings me to something you can look forward to seeing here soon! My dear friend Josh is a cook in Portland, Oregon. I want to visit there soon and make food with him! It makes me happy to see that cooking and music are touchstones for he and I. Those are definitely two things we have both decided will always remain the same. He works at the Arleta Library Bakery Cafe and has free creative range over their weekend brunch specials. He is going to send me some pictures (and hopefully some words, too) in the next few weeks for me to post – my first guest post!

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”
— Virginia Woolf (A Room of One’s Own)

“My one regret in life is that I am not someone else.”
— Woody Allen

Leave a Reply

