intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Long Lost Polenta Breakfast

I have been eating my heart out of that coconut rice, and so it was time to hit up one of my old favorites: breakfast polenta. I am moving back to Michigan, and have been trying to use up a lot of things from my freezer and pantry section. I had polenta, and some frozen corn I saved from using a little in another recipe a while back. I also found this smoked salmon hiding in the back of the freezer that needed to be used.

I packed up some onion and tomatoes, then set forth upon a walk to my dear friend’s. I sure do love cooking breakfast with other people. It makes me look forward to hosting brunches and spending time with friends once I get go back to siberia the Mitten. We made this last Tuesday, and there was a whole lot left for more breakfasts that week. I feel really lucky to have made so much good food over there, and I will never forget how important it is to share meals – especially breakfasts. I remember last summer I used to sometimes eat with 3 or 4 people. We would convene on the white couch, drinking coffee, then eat fruit and yogurt before starting the day. This day, it was sunshine, coffee, polenta, and sauteed veggies, and a poached egg.

Sometimes I feel like a spring flower, that I hide beneath cold frozen turf all winter, beneath rotting leaves, beneath scouring winds, and the crisp silence of mornings crackling frost beneath everybody’s feet. I know that everyone has their own ways of processing the changes of seasons, and their own patterns. I remember what it was like to be the shy violet shooting up as big as I have ever been towards the sunshine. I hope that it will be the same this spring. It is always a relief when you can finally stop worrying that your roots are grounded enough. Beautiful things grow from the barest of surfaces, the most nutrient poor soils, and the saddest of people.

Rocks, sandy soils, beaches can all grow such lovely, strange plants.

One response

  1. Eric H!

    Yum! I love polenta for breakfast, and with poached eggs! I am glad you are into this also.

    April 4, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Leave a Reply

