intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

Ramp Week: Pesto

I dived into a pile of ramps this afternoon, and inaugurated my new toy: a cuisinart food processor.  I had a nice time making it – I love watching the colors swirl and then pouring in the oil at the end where it all comes together and gets so bright and lovely.

Ramp Pesto

makes a whole lot

  • 30-40 ramps, leaves and bulbs roughly chopped
  • 3/4-1 cup grated hard cheeses (I used asiago, stravecchio parmesan, and parrano)
  • 3/4-1 cup toasted nuts (I used almonds)
  • juice of at 4-6 lemons
  • salt and pepper
  • dash of golden balsamic vinegar
To make this I usually start with the greens first, and since these are ramps, I did not bother adding garlic, as they are part of the onion family – seemed unnecessary.  Then I added in the cheese, nuts, lemon, salt and pepper… finally drizzling in the oil at the end.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

