intuitive cooking, sensible eating.

O Hai… (Shrimp & Tomato Ragu with Herbs & Greens)

Well hello says the slacker blogger.  I have some exciting things going on lately, and I got so wrapped up in bicycling and job interviewing and making recipes for Dennis over at Blue Dog Greens….. ya know how it goes.  Anyways, I am going to post what I made for dinner tonight.

Tonight is a bottom of the barrel kind of day, as we are waiting for our new installation from Blue Dog (Wednesdays we pick our share up at the Victorian Bakery).  Last Saturday I woke up bright and early, and dropped off my first recipe cards to Dennis.  We are working together this summer to help everybody get some new ideas of what to make with his produce – I have had the pleasure of using so many fantastic vegetables from him over the years, and am well acquainted with creative techniques for using everything up before the next batch comes, by cooking it to eat right away, and to save for later (in the freezer for the Winter In Michigan).  I cannot wait to meet the new people who may be visiting my site!  Don’t be shy – feel free to comment or ask me questions.  I would love to know if anyone has tried my recipes, or has any of their own they’d like to share with me!  I am sure I’ll be around the booth this summer, so I look forward to meeting folks in person as well 🙂

This recipe features bounty from last week’s share: oregano and spinach, plus radishes and garden cress in the salad.

The kale and basil were sprouted and planted by my friend Chanterelle…more about her soon, I promise.  You’ll love her.

Shrimp, Potato, Tomato, Mirepoix Ragu with Herbs & Greens

Serves 4 very hungry people, especially if use it as a sauce for grains

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, half chopped roughy and half minced
  • 2 large carrots, one chopped roughly, one minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 8 oz or so of mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 28 oz can of whole canned tomatoes, or fresh if you have them (I’d recommend getting good quality if possible – it really does make a difference)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 1/4 cup red wine (I used balsamic vinegar)
  • 1/2 cup chopped kale
  • 1/4 cup chopped basil
  • 1/4 cup chopped oregano
  • 1 cup chopped spinach
  • 2 cups shrimp (mine was just lazy cocktail shrimp, but you can use raw for sure)
  • 2 medium potatoes, peeled, diced, and pre boiled
  • Salt and pepper to taste
Method
  1. Put the diced potatoes in a saucepan with salty water and bring to a boil.  Cook until fork tender, then drain and set aside for now.
  2. Heat up the oil in a skillet and begin sauteing the carrot and onion over medium high heat until the onion is becoming translucent or even slightly browned.
  3. Add in the mushrooms, garlic, some salt, pepper, and coriander. Saute for another 5 minutes or so.  If you are using raw shrimp (or any other meat/meat substitute) add that in now.
  4. Dump in the can of tomatoes, bay leaf, lemon juice, and balsamic vinegar.  Stir it up and bring everything to a simmer and stir occasionally for about 20 minutes – just let everything get married in there.  Adjust salt and pepper to your taste.  You can add in the potatoes, too, when you like.  I did this later on so they wouldn’t get overcooked.
  5. When things are looking all tender and stewed, you can toss in the greens.  I do this at the end so they don’t get super mushy, and remain slightly bright and vibrant.
  6. Serve over pasta, polenta, rice, with good bread from your local bakery (I hope!), or just eat it with ye old fork.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

